Dog Eats Dog

Dog Eats Dog Philip Dixon is down on his luck An escape from a lucrative but botched bank robbery lands him bleeding and on the verge of collapse in a college town in New Hampshire How can he find a place to hide

  • Title: Dog Eats Dog
  • Author: Iain Levison
  • ISBN: 9781904738312
  • Page: 101
  • Format: Paperback
  • Philip Dixon is down on his luck An escape from a lucrative but botched bank robbery lands him bleeding and on the verge of collapse in a college town in New Hampshire How can he find a place to hide out in this innocent setting Peering into the window of the nearest house, he sees a glimmer of hope a man in his mid thirties, obviously some kind of academic, is rollingPhilip Dixon is down on his luck An escape from a lucrative but botched bank robbery lands him bleeding and on the verge of collapse in a college town in New Hampshire How can he find a place to hide out in this innocent setting Peering into the window of the nearest house, he sees a glimmer of hope a man in his mid thirties, obviously some kind of academic, is rolling around on the living room floor with an attractive high school student Professor Elias White is then blackmailed into harboring a dangerous fugitive, as Dixon with a cool quarter million in his bag and dreams of Canada in his head gets ready for the last phase of his escape.But the last phase is always the hardest Attractive and persistent FBI agent Denise Lupo is on his trail As for Elias White, his surprising transition from respected academic to willing accomplice poses a ruthless threat that Dixon would be foolish to underestimate.

    • Dog Eats Dog « Iain Levison
      101 Iain Levison
    • thumbnail Title: Dog Eats Dog « Iain Levison
      Posted by:Iain Levison
      Published :2019-07-10T15:54:39+00:00


    About “Iain Levison

    • Iain Levison

      Iain Levison was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, in 1963 Since moving to the United States, he has worked as a fisherman, carpenter, and cook, and he has detailed his woes of wage slavery in A Working Stiff s Manifesto He lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.



    554 thoughts on “Dog Eats Dog

    • After a botched bank robbery, the injured Dixon is looking for a place to hole up for a while, and lick his wounds. He peeps in the window of one New Hampshire house, and lo and behold, he sees Professor Elias White banging the girl next door . . . or should I say the VERY UNDERAGE girl next door. Oops! Nothing like a little blackmail to worm your way into room and board for the next few days. And so the two begin a very uneasy partnership with Dixon hiding out in the basement, and the Prof cate [...]


    • PROTAGONIST: A bank robber, a professor and an FBI agentSETTING: New HampshireRATING: 4.5"A new novel of social satire and fiendish suspense" – that's probably the most accurate blurb I've seen recently for a book. DOG EATS DOG is definitely satiric, fiendish and suspenseful. I loved it.Here’s the situation – Philip Dixon, whose been known to dabble in crime here and there and been in jail as a result, is down on his luck and decides to participate in a bank robbery in New Jersey with a gr [...]


    • A bit of a surprise to be honest. Picked at random from the library and a new author. Blurb on the book sold it to me.And it turned out to be unusual, intelligent, pacy and funny. A real success.Three main characters - not much going for any of them. A clevered than average armed robber is on the run, with his mates stupidly getting caught.He ends up holing up at a useless professors house - stumbling upon them when he is in the middle of an episode with his underage next door neighbour. Robber [...]


    • Very enjoyable quick read which had me laughing out loud in parts. A bank robbery gone wrong with unusual characters and lots of twists and turns. It would make a good Coen brothers movie.


    • Love these books where you can't love nor hate any of the characters. Very nicely written, fast to read, enjoyable journey in a politically incorrect US suburbia.


    • Le varie sfumature della cattiveria umana emergono sempre nei momenti critici. In realtà però sono latenti dentro di noi, si nascondono nella lotta del vivere quotidiano, permettendo di galleggiare, mentre la parte selvaggia dell'uomo - e della donna, per pari opportunità - rimane sommersa come succede agli iceberg.Non sempre ciò che si vede corrisponde per dimensioni e qualità a ciò che giace al di sotto della linea di galleggiamento, che in questo breve racconto di genere 'crime story' [...]


    • Levison’s second novel, and I can definitely see the pattern in the writing--not that this is bad. In each book, there are characters who are engaged in some sort of hilarious and half-assed criminal enterprise. This time around, we meet a dangerous fugitive named Dixon, who is on the run after knocking over a bank, and runs into Professor White, a non-tenured professor at a new Hampshire University. He catches him…having relations…with an underage neighbor, and decides to use this informa [...]


    • Interesting caper-style novel about a bank robber, a twerp of a college professor and a woman struggling to be taken seriously as an FBI agent. A fun, fast read that skewers people blinded by their own interests and how society rewards those who really don't deserve it, although the novel may not hold up to prolonged deep thinking.


    • Yes, it's a murder mystery, but also a character drama featuring some people with personalities that exemplify the darker, greedier, overly self involved sides of human nature . The characters who "get ahead" are those who take advantage of opportunities born of other people's misfortunes, greed or self interest sometimes with dark comedic results!


    • Enjoyable enough, but doesn't quite live up to it's promising start. My minor disappointment with the ending is that I expected one thing and got another. Not really the author's fault, I suppose. I liked "How to Rob Armored Cars" more.


    • Kind of "light" reading, nothing intense. I did like the FBI agent, albeit a bitimmoral for such an occupation, and both the criminal and the FBI agent had some intuitiveness that seemed a bit clever.I don't know if I'd go pick up another one by this author, but this one was ok.



    • Very fast read. Book held my interest. A different twist on a bank robbery. Ending was surprising, but not that exciting.


    • Superb little book. Proving that it is more than possible to write an excellent crime novel in well under 300 pages.I found it to be unputdownable and read it in two sessions.




    • Quite enjoyable. Fast-paced, witty characters and some sharp dialogue. Fans of Elmore Leonard, James Ellroy and some of the old noir will like it.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *